Azerbaijan Supported Return of Russia to PACE

Late in the evening of June 24, in Strasbourg, after a nine-hour heated debate, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe approved a resolution allowing Russia to return to PACE.

The text of the resolution prepared by the Rules Committee states that the right to vote, to speak and to represent the Assembly and its bodies should not be suspended. The author of the document is the Belgian MP Peter de Sutter.

According to Georgian media reports, the entire Georgian and Ukrainian delegations voted against the resolution. The majority of the delegations of Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Great Britain, Estonia and Sweden also voted against.

The resolution was fully supported by the delegations of France and Italy, as well as the delegations of Austria, Azerbaijan, Cyprus, Spain, Iceland, Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, San Marino and Turkey.

The return of Russia to PACE was supported by part of the delegations of Armenia, Belgium, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Moldova, Romania, Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, Finland, and Croatia.

Ultimately, the resolution was supported by 118 deputies, 62 were against, and 10 abstained.

Recall that Russia was deprived of the right to vote in PACE in 2014 after the annexation of the Crimea.

Azerbaijan”s support for Russia’s return to PACE could adversely affect Baku”s relations with Kiev. Until now, Baku unconditionally supported the territorial integrity of Ukraine and this principle in general.